Topic: +Fatar VFP3-10 triple dynamic pedal unit - user review

The Fatar VMK-188 Plus keyboard I described in this thread  http://www.forum-pianoteq.com/viewtopic.php?id=73 comes with a single sewing-machine type dynamic pedal. No respectable pianist would be seen dead with it. Pianoteq spoils us with four pedalling opportunities, but quadruple pedal accessories are as frequent as unicorns. Next best, a triple pedal will be of interest. There follows my user review of one such rare specimen.

I am of course biased (in favour of Pianoteq!). More relevant, I paid money for these gadgets; budget was not really a constraint for me, but I decline to buy into a brand for its logo (viz J.Baudrillard: Towards a Critique of the Political Economy of the Sign). I am an amateur musician whose main instrument is not the piano, and whose hands-on/feet-on exposure of famous makes is limited. Don't ask for my rendition of Gaspard de la nuit, although occasionally I try to work on the Koln Concert.

FATAR VFP-10

In summary: a cost-effective and robust triple pedal unit which works well with Pianoteq but only if it is compatible with your keyboard controller.

There is an episode in a Carlos Castenada book in which his mentors in the art of the transcendental, poor Yaqui Indians Dons Juan and Genaro, chide the post-graduate anthropology student for his persistent habit of conceptualizing his experiences. They compare him to other figures who rely on some artefact for their self-identity. The details are now mostly lost in my memory, but the similes get cruder and cruder ("like a nun without her crucifix"; "like a whore without her knickers") until the two Dons fall about in hysterical laughter.  A piano, we must admit, nevertheless, is less than a piano for want of pedals. (Whether a pianist is not a pianist unless he or she doing something with their feet is something else).