Topic: Franz Liszt's Un Sospiro ("A Sigh")

Hello Fellow Pianotechies,

The Files section contains my first posting in this forum of a live piano performance using Pianoteq 3.5. 

http://www.forum-pianoteq.com/uploads.p...naural.mp3

A few words of introduction are in order:  My name is Joe Felice, and have been playing classical piano and organ for over 50 years (yikes!).  Although I had aspirations of becoming a concert pianist, I studied engineering and was a metallurgical engineer in the steel industry for almost 30 years.  Having since been retired from the steel industry in America, I have been teaching piano and organ full time since 2003 with currently about 50 students per week.

The Liszt Un Sospiro ("A Sigh") performance gives one an idea of the vast tonal and timbral control that is achievable with Pianoteq 3.5.  This was played via an ancient vintage 1990 Roland A-80 controller keyboard, and makes extenive use of sustain and una corda pedaling.  Interestingly, there was no gain riding in this mp3 file -- the vast range of dynamics was attainable solely through the fingers into Pianoteq 3.5.  The listening perspective is 'Binaural', as one would hear standing close to the side of the piano, at standing height, and facing slightly towards the keyboard.

Please enjoy the performance.  Your opinions and comments about the sound and the playing are encouraged and welcomed.

Cheers,

Joe Felice  <jcfelice88keys>

Last edited by jcfelice88keys (28-11-2009 09:07)

Re: Franz Liszt's Un Sospiro ("A Sigh")

Beautiful! Thank you so much.

Check your mailbox..

Regards,
Niclas

Joe:

And from a fellow engineer, thank you very much.  I have a midi file of this song obtained from the 'net, but your rendition is much better.

I see why you had aspirations to be a concert pianist - metallurgical engineering must have been quite a change.