Topic: An opinion from a session musician

Hi people. I found Pianoteq on the web while experimenting with modelled piano programs, and gave it a try. I have been a session musician for the past 40 years, performing with artists such as Crystal Gayle and the Statler Brothers. I  have recently  completed my own Christmas album to be released this year, and I am working on a classical album of Debussy's piano works. I have a Yamaha grand I use in my studio, plus various electronic keyboards.

My initial reaction to Pianoteq was that this program has a lot of potential. It is very well laid out, and easy to understand. The inclusion of so many adjustable parameters is great. It's light on resources, and since latency is very low, playing in real time is a breeze.

Now, as for the sound. It is fantastic, but not where it needs to be yet. The middle registers are very convincing, indeed, but the upper registers start to get more and more electric sounding, the higher up the board you play. I spent considerable time trying to tweak this "electric piano" sound out, but could not do it, Now, I am not surprised by this, because even many top notch sampled libraries have less than perfect higher octaves. This is a very difficult range to emulate electronically, even when sampled,  and is why I use a grand when those upper registers are crucial to the recording, and not covered in a mix. At the same time, I feel that if anybody can get close to emulating the higher registers eventually, it will be the team behind Pianoteq. What they have done so far, is nothing short of amazing.