Topic: Comparing Pianoteq to acoustic pianos

I've been playing acoustic pianos for over 55 years, and have had a pretty sophisticated electronic studio for over 40.  So much of what you actually hear in an electronic studio is influenced by all of the analog electronics and speakers, as well as the room in which they are housed.  So, how can you make comparisons between an electronic instrument and the instrument it models, without having access to the original instrument, recorded and reproduced by the same equipment and in the same acoustic environment as the electronic studio?  I have about 15 Kontakt piano libraries, including Ivory, and I can legitimately compare Pianoteq to them (and Pianoteq consistently wins, IMO), but I can't get my head around what this means in terms of the actual acoustic instrument.  There is no way I am ever going to get a Steinway D into my studio, let alone record it and compare it to Pianoteq.  So, does the Steinway approval of Pianoteq mean that they have done this?

Re: Comparing Pianoteq to acoustic pianos

Interesting questions.

mosspa wrote:

So, how can you make comparisons between an electronic instrument and the instrument it models, without having access to the original instrument, recorded and reproduced by the same equipment and in the same acoustic environment as the electronic studio?

I Think it is impossible because even if you could create/reproduce the same sound and feel, there will always be a big difference in the diffusion of the sound. In one side you have strings and sounding boards, on the other side you have speakers or headphones.
Since no acoustic piano is played through speakers nor heapdphones, I think we can definitely not compare an acoustic with a virtual piano. There is no real point of comparison.