Topic: Latency and the number of samples...

First off: Thanks Moddart for releasing such a beautiful instrument. You have managed to make a great product even better.:lol:

I'd like to know the opinion of the community over this: AFAIK, there is a direct relationship between the number of samples and the latency, although Im still not sure because the number of milliseconds that appear beside the number of samples used by PT3 is described evidently as "audio buffer size".
Now, if it is, what is the difference between this concept of buffer size and latency? Are they the same right? Please note that I am not an expert in these matters (I have been unable to test for what they call "midi latency" in my computers because I just dont know how to do it in Macs)
So, the best settings for the audio should be more than 512 samples? What's the ideal number to obtain a better sound? What is the drawback? (there's always a catch, right?) I'd like to take the best of the performance of PT and my machines while have the lowest possible latency with the best sound possible....

My other question has to do with the so called Internal sample rate and the Host sample rate. Is normal that PT3 has a "top" or ceiling in terms of those numbers?. Let me rephrase the question: If I have a host sample rate of 96000Hz, why is it that PT3 does not handle that same number? It is normal that it can only reach 48000Hz?. Perhaps this is a bit too technical and, moreover, I may not know how to put the question.
I apologize if I'm not making any sense.

Thanks

Last edited by mimoviz (28-02-2009 15:58)
Guillermo

Re: Latency and the number of samples...

Pianoteq seems to have a maximum sample rate of 48k.

I did ask before if there were plans to increase it to 96k -
I expect real pianos also make acoustic energy in that extra octave of harmonics between 20kHz and 40kHz,
and I continue to wonder if the pianoteq model would sound any different if it took this into account