Topic: Getting a similar sound

Hello!
I'm new to Pianoteq, I just purchased the Stage version. I use a basic set up: a Core i3 laptop, budget (but good enough) headphones and a Casio Privia PX 160.
I love it so far, but I wanted some help with this.

I want to know which Pianoteq piano is the most similar to the one heard in this video:

https://youtu.be/uSgst7Pq7w4

The mids sound dominant, the lows don't overpower them. (Sorry for the lack of technical language ) Is it a piano thing or is it my fault for playing the lower notes too hard? I could upload the song performed by me in the D4 if you want.

I currently own the D4 and K2 pianos, and I don't know too much about technical stuff and tuning, so I just adjusted the velocity settings. The Stage version won't let me modify the tuning and the parameters too much.

What's the closest I can get to that sound with the Stage version limitations? Remember I can't use Standard and Pro FXPs either.

Thanks in advance!

Re: Getting a similar sound

The quality that stood out for me, immediately, was there was almost no dynamic range.  What does this mean?  When the pianist used a very light touch at the beginning -- AND when he played much harder -- the volume hardly changed!  Now, this might be an artifact of audio compression in a youtube video, but this is what characterized the entire video for me.

So, you can emulate this effect in Pianoteq by sliding the Dynamics Slider (the bottom slider in the very center bottom of the first screen -- just above the simulated piano keyboard) to the left, down to approximately 6 to 10dB.  In this way, soft playing will sound louder, and hard playing won't get that much louder.  You may use either the K2 or the D4 in your Stage Version of Pianoteq ... If Stage will allow you to increase the amount of reverb, then raise its loudness too.

Happy playing,

Joe

jcfelice88keys wrote: