Topic: Little bit of advice needed

Hi everyone,

I've been playing piano for few month and recently got hooked by pianoteq, I'm still using the tryout but will buy full version today!

I needed some advices regarding my setup, I'm a complete beginner. As of today I'm using :

Keyboard : Kawai KDP90 (Midi port only so i'm using roland UM-ONE mk2 to plug it to the usb 3.0 of my computer)
PC (laptop) : I5 with integrated soundcard  (~5ms to ~10ms)

Sound and latency are decent, but I think I could boost a little bit the quality of the sound by buying an external sound card. I've been digging some affordable sound card and the Focusrite scarlet seems to be great (2i2 or 2i4). 

The questions are :
Will the sound improvement will be really noticable ?
Will the latency will be enhanced or roughly the same?
Should I buy a sound card with midi port only (2i4) or an USB+midi to usb would be equivalent in term of performance (2i2+roland UM one mk2) ?
Is there any other equivalent soundcard that could be better in term of price or quality?

Thank you in advance for your help and your Expertise!
Pin

Re: Little bit of advice needed

Hi Pin,

If your latency is not adequate, try Ubuntu Studio. It is geared to the audio use case and might improve on what you see now. But is your latency a problem at all?

Regarding your sound card: what do you play the sound through? Speakers? Headphones? Are those decent?

A friend has a Focusrite and a pair of Adam near field monitors. He loves his setup, but does not play piano through it.

I am a starter myself and currently use a borrowed FATAR master keyboard (many many years old), connected to a Dell laptop with a cheapo MIDI-to-USB adapter. Ubuntu Studio. Also tried standard Ubuntu. No latency issues that I would notice on either of them (I think I set buffers to something that amounts to about 10 ms latency in Pianoteq). I use good quality Beyer Dynamics 990 headphones and can for now live fine with the Dell's headphone out.