Topic: Installation Pianoteq on Linux

Dear forum members,

I have some problems with the installation of pianoteq on linux (mint). I am relatively new to linux, so it must be partly my lack of understanding of linux, but anyhow:

I managed to install pianoteq, but I did not manage to activate my key, it tells me (after inserting my serial code):
"Could not save the activation key!
Please check file permissions of /home/myname/.config/Modartt/Pianoteq56 Stage.prefs

I checked and found it was root-owned. So, I changed it so that I am the owner with read and write rights, but that didn help.

Any idea what I am doing stupid here?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Re: Installation Pianoteq on Linux

There is no reason to become root at any point during the installation or running of Pianoteq. The situation you describe seems to be a result of Pianoteq or your DAW running as root which is not only unnecessary but also dangerous.

Please describe what you are trying to achieve. Running Pianoteq as standalone? As VST plugin? For which DAW software?

Ah, good question. I am installing Pianoteq Standalone.  I extracted the pianoteq zipfolder in /usr , because I thought that makes sense, but maybe that is stupid for some or another reason.

skipgilles wrote:

Ah, good question. I am installing Pianoteq Standalone.  I extracted the pianoteq zipfolder in /usr , because I thought that makes sense, but maybe that is stupid for some or another reason.

Not exactly "stupid" but unnecessary, unless there are multiple users logging into your computer and all of them want to use Pianoteq. If that's not the case, do this:

1) Completely delete everything related to Pianoteq you have installed. Remove the Pianoteq folder from /usr, remove the whole directory /home/myname/.config/Modartt - you probably have to do all of this as root. This is important because leaving something root-owned somewhere in your directory structure may prevent you from later using Pianoteq correctly.